The Lotus Moon

The new moon in June is known in some cultures as “The Lotus Moon,” a very powerful metaphor for nurturing beauty and positivity in our lives and in ourselves. The lotus roots in mud, and out of the murky water, it produces a most beautiful flower. The symbol of the lotus assures us that a person can rise above being rooted in the messiness, suffering and “imperfection” in the world. Indeed, people in our culture strive for an elusive ideal of perfection; and as long as they perceive their lives as less than “perfect,” they are unable to be truly content. The problem is that nothing is perfect in this sense, and as long as we hold onto that false belief we will remain in a vicious cycle of frustration and despair. The irony is that this perceived imperfection is actually what makes the world perfect–the fact being, sometimes we need the messiness to flower and reach our fullest potential. Instead of focusing our energies on trying to achieve the impossible state of “perfection,” we should realize that beauty can be found in unexpected places. And rather than focusing on what makes something, someone or a situation less than perfect, it is more fruitful to search for that which makes them beautiful. Don’t just look at the muddy water; appreciate the exquisite lotus that grows out of it. By actively seeking positivity in this way you make the choice to rise above negativity and grow into something more beautiful yourself. This is choosing to live skillfully.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I have been a doctor for 50 years and am a retired Professor of Medicine from UCLA. I am spending the rest of my life promoting healthy living and diets. At 76 I do walk the talk, 3x a day with my 2 dogs. I work out at Gold’s Gym 3x a week. My favorite exercise there is head swiveling to check out the fantastic chicks!
    I have a website nomoremedicines.com where I promote healthy living and diets as a much more sensible and effective treatment for high blood pressure and cholesterol as well as diabetes. Of course this has to be with the participation of their doctors. My book “Control Your High Blood Pressure Without Drugs” is sold there and is the #1 best selling blood Pressure book at Amazon for the last 3 years out of 700 titles. I have 2 healthy cookbooks about finished as well as a Spanish translation of the blood pressure book to go on the site. My goal is to reach the point where Big Pharma considers me a threat.
    Your site and your philosophy are right on! Living and eating healthfully is a beautiful experience. I am sure it makes God happy to see us taking care of his creation.

  2. 2

    Sheryl said,

    Just found you and so far I love what I have read. I especially like the next to the last sentence here, Lotus Moon. “By actively seeking positivity in this way you make the choice to rise above negativity and grow into something more beautiful yourself.” In a way this is what I have been trying to do for years, but I never heard it worded so well. Thank you for your inspiration.

  3. 3

    Sheryl said,

    Mostly I have been living by the quote from Gandhi, “Be the change you want to see in the world.”


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

